Friday Fictioneers #10 The Scandalous Dress

window-dressing-janet-webb

Photo Copyright – Janet Webb

“May I borrow your scandalous dress?”
 

He and I often talked in the hall about books. When I mentioned reading the Scarlet Letter for class, I could not breathe and neither could he. Yet he gazes at my window when he walks past.

I hang the dress from my balcony. Realizing he might see up its skirt, my warm blush of cheek spreads like wildfire.

“Do you have a date?” Heather with the makeup in 3B asked.

“Not yet,” I said, shocking us both, but a lady must be bold if she wants a date with a man shyer than an Amish woman who is new to the world.

black-divider-no-background-md

OK, I went with the Rumspringa. Actually, she left the Amish because she wanted to finish her education that was ended (against her wishes) after the eighth grade and to go on to college which means that she will have to make her way alone in the outside world, shunned by her family and former community. This bit of background came from a talk I attended by the author Saloma Miller Furlong whose autobiography “Why I Left the Amish” described her own journey to fulfillment and freedom in the outside world.   

This story was written for the Friday Fictioneers, a group of writers devoted to crafting 100 word stories from a photo prompt (this one was actually 109). Thanks to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for the Amish inspiration and to Janet Webb for providing this intriguing photo (and a flag for everyone to rally around). Here’s another that went with the Amish theme. To find out what the rest of the Friday Fictioneers did with the pink dress click here

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Friday Fictioneers #10 The Scandalous Dress

  1. Intriguing piece. Hope it’s not too much for the shy guy to be looking up her dress!

  2. Mystikel says:

    He may faint! 😉

  3. I liked it. Especially “… reading the Scarlet Letter … I could not breathe…” and “Realizing he might see up its skirt,…”

  4. Refreshing to have someone who would blush think of a man looking up the skirt of a hanging dress! Too often these days it’s all to easy to look under what’s called a skirt. 🙂 I think you captured her feeling nicely.

    janet

  5. petrujviljoen says:

    I liked this very much. Borrowing the dress before she knew she would have a date means a self-assured woman. Well written.

  6. petrujviljoen says:

    Apparently my link from the comment section doesn’t work. It should be fixed now on the inlinkz site. http://pviljoen.wordpress.com/2013/05/31/last-dance/

  7. Love that you might be embarrassed looking up a dress 😉

  8. neenslewy says:

    Amused by looking up the dress too. Good flash.

  9. Dear Kelly,

    Interesting take on the prompt. Happy to inspire. 😉 Loved it that someone was innocent enough to be breathless at reading The Scarlet Letter. Tame by modern standards.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  10. Joe Owens says:

    I am sure the color of the dress symbolizes a lot for this fellow.

  11. I guess it’s pretty bad when the Amish girl is the less shy of the two. Glad she has the guts to go for it.

Leave a Reply

